Light At The End Of The World

Onge's Review

Following on from Andy's solo album Electric Blue and Union Street, an acoustic album comprised of reworked tracks from their back catalogue, 2007 saw Andy and Vince return with a purely electronic album of new material. The album could hardly get off to a better start in the form of the energetic Sunday Girl. Despite a slightly iffy intro and outro, this is still a terrific Erasure track. Vince's arrangement is the real winner here: musically the bridge is up there as being some of his finest ever work and there's a uniqueness to the track that only Vince could offer. The glitz and glamour of the song is also captured perfectly in the album's artwork. The debut single I Could Fall In Love With You follows and is an instantly infectious song thanks mostly to a strong melodic bridge and chorus. Despite this, the track is hampered somewhat by some ill-conceived frog-like synth sounds which are ever-present throughout the track, and whilst Andy sounds terrific throughout, the song is guilty of some rather bland lyrics. A good song, but not of the album's best.

Bouncing along at healthy pace, tunes such as 'I Could Fall in Love with You' and 'Fly Away' border on euphoria. The Eighties feel of the album is reminiscent of early Erasure; it melds the pain of heartbreak into an electric pop fantasy. For anyone after a bit of electro escapism, this is a winner.

The Observer

Sucker For Love is next up and it's the most up-tempo song on the entire album. It is also one of the worst. Vince's arrangement sounds extremely dated, often resembling early 90s computer game music which is not well complimented by intrusive rave-style synths. The chorus is too repetitive and chant-like which sadly results in one of Erasure's worst ever album tracks. Thankfully this is not a sign of things to come as Storm In A Teacup gets the album back on course. This track is everything its predecessor is not: heartfelt, serious and home to some great lyrics. A Hideaway for the Twenty-First Century, the track talks about a boy's struggle coping with his mother's alcoholism. Vince's arrangement is perfectly pitched over yet more great vocals from Andy and shows a maturity to Erasure's writings that critics can often overlook. Fly Away is an uplifting melodic delight. Vince creates a bouncy backing full of trademark bleeps whilst Andy shows off his vocal range once again in soaring fashion. Lyrically it one of the best tracks the album has to offer whilst still being fundamentally another track about love. Beautiful and strong, it's an certain album highlight.

The retro sounding Golden Heart is another track that demonstrates Andy's fantastic vocal range and ability to hold a note. A strong track, but strangely hampered by a chorus doesn't live up to promise offered by a superior bridge. It also seems to end a little abruptly too. All is forgiven with the arrival of the anthemic How My Eyes Adore You. The verses have a trip-hop rhythm to them and the song soars flawlessly from this into the prolonged vocals of the chorus. Vince's arrangement is one of the strongest on the album and the chorus is wonderfully infectious and memorable. This superb track is followed by the equally excellent Darlene. With some interesting lyrics about the ups and downs of a relationship and a perfectly understated arrangement, this track is a real winner and best of all it doesn't resemble any other track the boys have recorded in their illustrious career. Unlike some other tracks on the album this song doesn't feel like it ends prematurely. When A Lover Leaves You follows a similar lyrics theme, with Andy stating that this track is about his break-up with long-term boyfriend Paul. Such a heartfelt theme really brings out the best in Andy's lyrics with this song really excelling in this department. Naturally Andy's vocals are soaring and beautiful throughout and Vince's arrangement compliments unobtrusively.

Fans' Best/Worst Of

Top 3 Songs
  1. Sunday Girl
  2. I Could Fall In Love With You
  3. Storm In A Teacup
Bottom 2 Songs
  1. Darlene
  2. Glass Angel
Results taken from Poll 2008-09

Glass Angel is the conclusion to the regular album and is a dark and menacing track that you wouldn't normally associate with Erasure. Despite its epic progressive nature and foreboding synth sounds (one sounds like a low flying aircraft) the song never really feels like it delivers. It's a track that appears to promise a lot but doesn't really go anywhere and it certainly outstays its welcome. A disappointingly weak track. The limited edition CD also includes two bonus tracks, the first of which being Be My Baby, which very much has a b-side feel to it. The song doesn't quite flow as smoothly as others tracks on the album and whilst it's not a bad song, it's far from being a classic. I Don't Know Why is a gem of a song, which progresses along at a terrific pace before reaching a wonderfully contagious chorus. Stronger than many of the regular tracks, this bonus track alone is reason enough to buy the limited edition album over the regular 10 track version.

Summary

Overall, Light At The End Of The World is a generally strong album, but it is not without its flaws. Musically, the album is very familiar throughout which is highlighted further by the fact that oddly not a single track fades out. Gareth Jones production is generally good, but sometimes the backing lyrics seem to get lost in the mix. The album is deliberately retro sounding and sounds more 1987 than 2007. That's not necessarily a bad thing but it does seem to be a bit of step backwards from the more contemporary sounding Nightbird. In Sucker For Love and Glass Angel you have two of the weakest ever Erasure album tracks. Yet despite all this, the album has enough charm and quality to rise above these criticisms. After some clumsy lyrics in Nightbird and Electric Blue, the lyrics on this album are amongst the strongest written in many a year. Couple this with excellent melodies, vocals and some strong arrangements and you can see why Light At The End Of The World is still a good pop album.

Fan Reviews

Below are some fan reviews written by visitors to this very site. Once you've read these, please feel free to use the form at the end of the page to write your own review.

  1. Who would have thought this could happen? Will we ever learn to trust that Erasure’s genius can happen once again? This is an album that challenges the listener at first beginning, making one return in order to confirm that what they’ve heard is indeed real. Similar in groundbreaking songwriting as the fans-favorite, the self titled Erasure album, Light At The End Of The World takes hold of the mind and heart and carefully holds the hand in an excursion into the Universe of music.

    10 out of 10
    Reviewed by Mig, Santa Cruz, CA
    25 May 2007 4:08 am (GMT)
  2. Since the first time I’ve listened to LATEOTW I took it as the album that I’ve been expecting from Erasure since they released Cowboy. I mean they finally recorded another upbeat album after 3 slower works (Loveboat, OPS & Nightbird). Ok, it has been a great experience to see Erasure recording more ‘mature’ and even challenging ones, but it’s awesome to discover they still can sound as full of energy as when they were younger. All its 10 songs follow the basic rules from pop without any guilty as usual, but it sounds even more inspired to me in relation to their last ones. Many great (or even terrific) hooks can be heard all through its 10 songs and Andy’s lyrics still talk about love most part of the time, what isn’t a deffect when you own a skilful hand to write as Andy does, and they continue to be accessible/bittersweet, but they are more creative if you compare them to Nightbird’s ones. You can verify this on reading the lyrics from Darlene (Andy should write more ones about fictious girls. Do you remember the also brilliant Joan?!), Sunday Girl (or “try not to lose your stable relationship because of a sassy girl that you met on a dance club”) or Storm In A Teacup (a touching family drama which is partially autobiographical). Regarding Vince’s synths, he continues to prove why he’s a wizard in inventing and re-inventing electronic sounds to let Erasure’s music always sound fresh. And his melodic sense keeps intact indeed even after 21 years of career. He has never forgotten how essential a good melody is, no matter how noisy Pop Music has become after the Eighties. Its 1st single, Could Fall In Love With You, isn’t the best track of the album, but it’s a thrilling one anyway, while Sunday Girl (its very well-chosen 2nd one) sounds as a sensational blend between two tracks from OPS: Make Me Smile & Everyday. Absolutely irresistible! Sucker For Love is unexpectedly vigorous & expansive, including Andy has said it’s the ‘Love To Hate You’ moment of this record, what means you just can love it or hate it. Needless to say I love it. And how! On the other hand Glass Angel, which Andy has said is a kind of sequel to Rock Me Gently (from the self-titled album), sounds as an epic ballad and it’s not by chance it was chosen to close (very well) the album. Actually, even the ballads from this work are full of strong beats, what shows how excited they were about making this one. Storm In A Teacup is probably one of their all time saddest ballads (along with The Circus, Hallowed Ground, Crown Of Thorns and Grace) while When A Lover Leaves You is wonderfully romantic and the most beautiful moment of this record in terms of melody at my point of ear. Darlene is so pleasant as a walk through a beautiful park or a nice meeting in a Cafe. Andy has said its melody was inspired by “La Isla Bonita” from Madonna, but I cannot see a big similarity between their respective ones indeed. They’re definitely not so ‘cousins’ as Love To Hate You and I Will Survive from Gloria Gaynor. Well, Spanish rhythms are always welcome, so whatever… The sequence Fly Away (terrific chorus and vocal by Andy), Golden Heart (the synths from Vince are particularly catching here) and How My Eyes Adore You (aside from the chorus, the lines are almost spoken instead of sung here) represents the weaker part of this really incredible work, but weak is a forbidden word for describing any song of this one. And VIVA ERASURE!

    10 out of 10
    Reviewed by flamingoman, a place where i can be a good scout
    26 May 2007 5:08 am (GMT)
  3. Después de escucharlo varias veces puedo decir que este album es increible, donde se conjugan la impecable voz de Andy y las increíbles melodías de Vince. En realidad la primera vez que lo escuché las primeras seis canciones me gustaron, para las otras cuatro necesité hacerlo unas veces más y en cuanto a los extra tracks no puedo entender que los hayan dejado afuera del album porque son increíbles, sobretodo Idon’t know why.
    Gracias Erasure una vez más por darnos buena música para escuchar. Ahora lo único que falta es que vengan a la Argentina.

    Patricia

    After a few listennings I have to say that the album is amaizing, the beautiful voice of Andy and the catchy Vince melodies make this album a great album. In fact, the first time I listen to LATEOTW I thought that the first 6 songs were amaizing, but the last 4 songs I had to listen to them a few more times to love them. The extra tracks, specially I don’t know why are amaizing songs too.
    Thank you Erasure for making such a good music, the only things that left is that you comeback to Argetnina.

    Patricia

    10 out of 10
    Reviewed by Patricia, Argentina
    26 May 2007 9:38 pm (GMT)
  4. I think LATEOTW is not ebough like NIGHTBIRD, I like it, but I need something else, several few songs make me feel really excited, as GOLDEN HEART [beautiful song], STORM IN A TEACUP, I DON’T KNOW WHY, DARLENE, but I got it just because it’s an ERASURE’s production, and cause I,m a really fan of ERASURE.

    8 out of 10
    Reviewed by Carlos Chimeo, YUCCA VALLEY CA
    3 June 2007 7:08 am (GMT)
  5. Light at the end of the tunnel. The best album since cowboy. Thought with Love Boat, Other peoples songs and Night Bird, Erasure was loosing the plot BUT then this album.
    Awesome

    10 out of 10
    Reviewed by Frank, South Africa
    15 June 2007 3:05 pm (GMT)
  6. AS A FAN OF ERASURE FOR ABOUT 20 YRS, SINCE MY PARENTS BOUGHT WONDERLAND -AFTER HEARING IT IN A RECORD STORE, THINKING IT WAS ALISON MOYET!- I HAVE BOUGHT ALL THE ALBUMS. THE ONLY DISAPPOINTING ONE FOR ME BEING LOVE BOAT.
    I WAS VERY OPTIMISTIC ABOUT THE SOUND OF THE NEW ALBUM BEING MORE UPBEAT IN TEMPO, ALTHOUGH MY FAVOURITE TRACK ON NIGHTBIRD WAS I BET YOU’RE MAD AT ME! PERSONALLY, I THINK LATEOTW IS A GREAT ALBUM. SUNDAY GIRL, ICFILWU, GOLDEN HEART ARE EXCELLENT. ANDY’S VOICE AND VINCE’S SUBLIME SYNTHS SHOW THEY ARE ON TOP FORM. ON FIRST LISTEN I WAS NOT IMPRESSED WITH HOW MY EYES ADORE YOU AND DARLENE, ALTHOUGH THEY HAVE GROWN ON ME. I STILL CANNOT GET INTO GLASS ANGEL THOUGH. I THINK THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN THE LAST TRACK ON THE ALBUM. I LOVE WHEN A LOVER LEAVES YOU, WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN. ALSO THIS SHOULD BE THE NEXT SINGLE, IF THERE IS ONE.

    I’M A BIT DISAPPOINTED WITH THE CHART POSITIONS OF ICFILWY AND SUNDAY GIRL AS I THINK THEY ARE BOTH GREAT TRACKS AND BETTER THAN SOME PREVIOUS ONES THAT HAVE GOT MUCH HIGHER . HOWEVER, I KNOW THAT THIS DOES NOT MATTER AS ERASURE STILL HAVE A HUGE FAN BASE AND AS LONG AS ANDY AND VINCE CONTINUE TO PRODUCE QUALITY NEW MATERIAL I WILL BE HAPPY. I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE THEM IN CONCERT. THE LAST TIME I SAW THEM WAS IN IPSWICH FOR THE OTHER TOUR.NORWICH IN SEPTEMBER FOR ME!

    8 out of 10
    Reviewed by KEVIN, ESSEX
    4 July 2007 1:45 pm (GMT)
  7. SUNDAY GIRL [8/10]
    I COULD FALL IN LOVE WITH YOU [9/10]
    SUCKER FOR LOVE [7/10]
    STORM IN A TEACUP [9/10]
    FLY AWAY [10/10]
    GOLDEN HEART [8/10]
    HOW MY EYES ADORE YOU [10/10]
    DARLENE [8/10]
    WHEN A LOVER LEAVES YOU [10/10]
    GLASS ANGEL [6/10]
    –BONUS TRACKS–
    BE MY BABY [6/10]
    I DON’T KNOW WHY [8/10]

    8 out of 10
    Reviewed by Michael, Amarillo, Tx
    27 July 2007 6:47 am (GMT)
  8. just got the cd Light at the end of the world and what a great cd ! This is Erasure i know of . Really quirky dance music that can`t help but sing and dance to . This reminds me of the time we went to Erasure concerts years ago that we really loved, just makes you happy . We`ve only just back into Erasure and boy hav`nt we missed them.

    9 out of 10
    Reviewed by kevin cross, derbyshire
    28 July 2007 12:06 am (GMT)
  9. Not as good as nightbird but good nevertheless!
    Highlights of this album are Sunday girl, I could fall in love with you and Storm in teacup..

    6 out of 10
    Reviewed by jemuvompo, Finland
    22 September 2007 3:03 pm (GMT)
  10. After Nightbird (which I loved) I sorta drifted in my tastes in music and never purchased Union Street. But when I herd Erasure were releasing a new album of original material I was instantly excited.

    I never thought that nightbird could be topped but I was so wrong, LATEOTW has to be the best album Erasure have ever produced, every track is worthy of being a hit single, the Nightbird and early Erasure sound is back.

    Just the spine-tingling intro on Sunday Girl sets the album off through a whirlwind of synthtastic pop belters!
    Then the album takes a mad leap into infectious high camp catchyness with Sucker For Love, reminding me of the Love To Hate You days. This is then contrasted with the emotionaly scripted and powerful Storm In A Teacup, it carries on its reign of power through the next couple of tracks until it hit me once gain with Darlene which is one of my favourite tracks the somehwat cheesy lyrics “we ggot dirty dishes in the sink” is only helped my the immense sing-along quality this track has. I feel the album gets much darker on the final two tracks which I love reminding me of Siren Song.

    I purchased the limited edition version giving me two bonus tracks, in my opnion both especially I Don’t Know Why could have been on the actual album if not even singles.
    I recomend the limited edition so you don’t miss out on the bonus tracks!!!

    Overall Erasure’s best album ever, stunning, never has one album had every song been good enough to release as a single. It’s fantastic!

    10 out of 10
    Reviewed by Shaun, UK
    16 October 2007 2:38 pm (GMT)
  11. Well, what can I say? I look forward to each erasure release like a child waits for Christmas; with excitement, anticipation, and – unfortunately these days, some trepidation.

    Not since I Say x 3 has a single erasure album release been listened to with complete joy and satisfaction… and with each passing album since, I have been hoping – nay- praying for a complete ‘return to form’, and by that I mean an album that I can listen to and know that erasure have still, without a shadow of doubt ‘got it’. Instead, each album from 95 onwards has been a confusing mix of erasure highs, and sadly lows too.

    From the Circus to ‘erasure’ the boys couldn’t put a foot wrong… The innocents; Wild!; Chorus and I Say were erasure gold; lyrically and musically V&A were riding the crest of a wave so grand and imposing that it seemed every release would doubtless climb to number 1. Then came Cowboy; which seemed to me to be something of an apology (not that one were needed incidentally) for the introspective and ‘Orb-esque’ proceedings of the self-titled album. However, the return to the 3 minute pop ditty came at a price. I can’t quite out my finger on it, but there’s something about Cowboy that didn’t seem to ‘add up’, an album of two halves, if you will. With each release since, the boys appear to have struggled to get back what they were doing so right for so long, something reflected in both critical and fan reviews as well as falling chart positions…

    Nightbird brought some much needed relief for the ‘cruise control’ syndrome that plagued erasure’s prior albums, but there were still some inconsistencie, with tracks swinging from the excellent Breathe, to the fakey techno of ATTSFOOL. Such it was that I had high hopes for LATEOTW. OK, the penchant for extremely wordy titles still seemed to be there, but maybe the cruise control would be off, and a seemingly rejuvenated erasure would again be able to deliver the goods as they effortlessly did a decade or so ago. Sadly LATEOTW seemed to take some retrograde steps, and remains in my opinion, much like Cowboy, very much an album of two halves – literally!

    The lead track; disco-pop stomper ‘Sunday Girl’ was a great start; at last Andy wasn’t bemoaning love unrequited and the bitter-sweet lyrics were perfectly accompanied by Vince on top form. What should have been the lead single (woefully unsuccessful upon it’s release due, in part, to some badly judged editing – (effectively rendering the lyrics meaningless) was followed by the lead single ICFILWY. OK, initial reception seemed favourable, but the single release seemed weak in comparison to the album track and in the canon of past erasure singles, didn’t cut the mustard; failing to hit top 20. Sucker for Love is a great divider! The marmite of erasure songs I actually loved it; again, the bitter-sweet lyric and thumping synths reminded me of the brash confidence of Love to Hate You. Storm in a Teacup again reminds us of how well crafted a pop song can be; oozing with pathos, but never mawkish, a mid tempo number typical of erasure that wouldn’t have been out of place on the Circus album…. this really is going to be a great album!!! Then something happens… Fly Away. A ‘nice’ song; but one gets the feeling that someone was reaching for the autopilot right about here, and the album never fully recovers from this loss of momentum.

    Every track from here on kind of ‘blends’ into the next; ‘How My Eyes Adore You’ has all the right blips and bleeps and a rousing instrumental, but lyrically some weird hip-hop vs erasure hybrid… don’t get it? Golden Heart – a little bland; Darlene at least harks back to early Vince Clarke, but is more Yazoo than erasure… When a Lover Leaves you lacks the ‘bite’ and cynicism that Andy can write so well and Glass Angel, despite some interesting Vince sounds, just leaves me cold.

    The main problem with this album is not the quality of individual tracks, it’s the ‘samey-ness’ of them. It took ‘lots’ of listens to distinguish between pretty much all of the latter 50% of the album; lyrics seem to go from fresh and inspired to insipidly sweet. Not that there’s anything wrong with that; but when vocabulary overly relies on ‘love’ ‘darling’ ‘child’ ‘angel’ and ‘baby’ you know there’s something wrong, and don’t even mention the bonus tracks I paid £3 extra for!

    The overall effect is one of disappointment for a fan who expects only the very best from a band who ‘can’ write consistently great pop music, and a good third of LATEOTW unfortunately falls into B side quality; a fact reflected in poor chart positioning for the 2 singles and album as a whole.

    6 out of 10
    Reviewed by Starlight UK
    4 August 2011 9:54 am (GMT)
  12. Before reviewing this album, I must confess that I haven’t listened to it that often. I used to play Erasure virtually every day in the car but I’ve not had one for four years!
    Sunday Girl – great track. For any confused Blondie fans, there’s no French in this one. I Could Fall In Love With You – another strong song, memorable chorus. Sucker For Love – awful. Storm In A Teacup – heartfelt, lyrics work well. Fly Away – makes little impression. Golden Heart – sounds slightly old-fashioned, but I like it. How My Eyes Adore You – again, little impression. Darlene – dirty dishes in the sink? Where’s the glamour and escapism? When A Lover Leaves You – good, and personal again. Glass Angel – starts well, ends repetitively. Be My Baby/I Don’t Know Why – little impression, though I think the second one was ok.

    6 out of 10
    Reviewed by Paul, UK
    11 August 2011 9:39 am (GMT)
  13. After the utterly brilliant “Nightbird” album I couldn’t help but be a bit disappointed with this album. But despite some shortcomings, it is tracks like “I could fall in love with you” or “Storm in a Tea Cup” and “Fly away” that remind me why I love Erasure so much. Heartfelt electronic music with Erasure trademark melodies.

    8 out of 10
    Reviewed by Thomas Janak. Birmingham/UK
    1 July 2012 12:41 am (GMT)
  14. Easily the weakest Erasure album over the last 10 years, Sunday Girl being the only standout track, 9 weak songs, same old sound, blips and bleeps production from the 90’s lacking in any new ideas and inspiration from yep Gareth Jones again, you can also tell it was quickly recorded over 4 weeks in Maine October 2006. After the fantastic Nightbird this album was 2 steps back corrected by the excellent Tomorrows World four years later.

    1 out of 10
    Reviewed by burt
    18 April 2014 5:43 pm (GMT)
  15. A LIGHT AT THE END OF THE WORLD

    “A Light at the End of the World” starts well enough with two very likable songs, Sunday Girl and I Could Fall in Love With You. Although neither are as good as the Erasure’s signature work, they are solid singles.

    Thereafter, the album gets a little bit murky. Sucker for Love has an energetic beat but there is something very generic about it.

    From there, the album delves into a series of what sound like torch songs. How My Eyes Adore You is an excellent example of this. The verse in that song has a lot of snap, but the chorus has a long drawn out phrasing that really makes the song sound mushy. Golden Heart, Fly Away, Storm in a Tea Cup and When a Lover Leaves You all have similar corniness to them (although When a Lover Leaves You is the better of those tracks and benefits from excellent remixes). These tunes have interesting lyrics (Storm in a Teacup especially), and this makes them worth a careful listen, but they aren’t playlist material.

    Darlene is a hidden gem, both melodic but with a better pace. It’s odd to hear Bell singing about a relationship with a woman… is this a friendship or a tranny?

    Glass Angel is forgettable (literally… I just listened to the album and I can’t member that tune, except thinking is was bland and I didn’t like it).

    The album takes flight again in the last 5 tracks… all are bonus tracks. Early Bird (from Storm Chaser) is terrific. Bell + Lauper is dynamite and the song has oomph! I also love I Like It (from I Could Fall in Love With You EP), which has attitude and a nice heavy beat. Take Me on a Highway (from Sunday Girl EP) has energy, but the chorus is a little cheesy. Be My Baby is spunky and terrific while Don’t Know Why is too reminiscent of Take Me on a Highway (in terms of melody elements). These last two are bonus tracks included with a limited edition version of the album.

    I COULD FALL IN LOVE WITH YOU [EP]

    Good solid remixes that avoid becoming monotonous dance tracks and stay true to the vocals. None are particularly creative in terms of redefining the song, but they’re enjoyable. The last is my favorite.

    SUNDAY GIRL [EP]

    Good stuff here! The extended mix is a just a longer version of the CD mix, but is somehow better in my opinion. The Riff & Rays mix is superb. It’s oh, so 70’s in all the right ways. I especially like the short version – so much energy and boogie. A terrific reworking of the song that takes it new places in just the way a good remix should!

    STORM CHASER [EP]

    Since I don’t love many of the original versions, it stands to reason remixes wouldn’t change things… and they doesn’t. The remixes aren’t terrible, I just don’t like the original songs much. The exception is When A Lover Leaves You, which really shines in all four remixes. The GRN mix has good pace and adds life to the song. The Oscar Salguero Remix has that marvelous orchestration (why not do the who song like that?) at the beginning. The last two are bonus tracks just for you. My favorite is the Session mix, which has an intimate arrangement of real (not synthetic) instruments, brings energy and lifts this song to a whole other level, revealing it as a beautiful bit of songwriting. The Take It Gently Mix is a nice way to end this album which otherwise is loaded with some hit-you-on-the-head dance mixes of lesser songs.

    ARTWORK:

    Sensational. Colorful and flamboyant – total Erasure. The four discs lined up together (virtually on my screen anyway) make a nice coherent display.

    SUMMARY: A Light at the End of the World gets a 6/10 on my score scale, suffering from croony torch song-like entries in the middle, but salvaged by a few single-worthy tunes and some bonus tracks that add much needed energy.

    6 out of 10
    Reviewed by JNick Sacramento, CA
    26 November 2014 11:29 pm (GMT)
  16. SUNDAY GIRL [8/10]
    I COULD FALL IN LOVE WITH YOU [9/10]
    SUCKER FOR LOVE [6/10]
    STORM IN A TEACUP [7/10]
    FLY AWAY [6/10]
    GOLDEN HEART [7/10]
    HOW MY EYES ADORE YOU [6/10]
    DARLENE [8/10]
    WHEN A LOVER LEAVES YOU [10/10]
    GLASS ANGEL [7/10]
    –BONUS TRACKS–
    BE MY BABY [7/10]
    I DON’T KNOW WHY [6/10]

    7 out of 10
    Reviewed by pmrelliott dublin
    2 March 2015 4:29 pm (GMT)
  17. I was not expecting an album as incredible as Nightbird, but for me Light at the end of the World was a dissapointment! There are three excellent tracks in the forms of I Could Fall In Love with You, Fly Away and Storm in a Teacup. But the rest of the álbum fall flats. How my Eyes Adore You and When a Lover Leaves You have potential, but the production fails. As a whole, LATEOTW is the worst Erasure album.

    5 out of 10
    Reviewed by BRossete Joinville, Brasil
    28 August 2015 9:10 pm (GMT)
  18. When this album came out I was simply glad that Erasure was remaining an entity and I devoured this release. For the most part, this album has not held up very well for me.

    SUNDAY GIRL [7/10]
    I COULD FALL IN LOVE WITH YOU [8/10]
    SUCKER FOR LOVE [6/10]
    STORM IN A TEACUP [7/10]
    FLY AWAY [9/10]
    GOLDEN HEART [7/10]
    HOW MY EYES ADORE YOU [8/10]
    DARLENE [6/10]
    WHEN A LOVER LEAVES YOU [7/10]
    GLASS ANGEL [5/10]
    BE MY BABY [5/10]
    I DON’T KNOW WHY [6/10]

    7 out of 10
    Reviewed by Jonathan Andrews – Florida, USA
    15 March 2016 5:54 pm (GMT)

Review this album

Use the form below to write your own review of this album. Your review can be a few sentences long or several paragraphs - the length is entirely up to you.